Hendrix senior receives school's President Medal

Published Wednesday, May 07, 2008

Hendrix College senior Jennifer Robin Tate of Germantown, Tenn., received the Hendrix President's Medal during a convocation Thursday, the highest award attainable by a graduating senior.

The award is presented annually to the student who best exemplifies the highest ideals of the college. Tate was the 29th student to receive the medal, first awarded in 1980. As the President's Medal winner, she will carry the banner of the college during Hendrix's commencement on May 10.

Tate, an English major, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Marc Tate of Germantown. In addition to receiving the President's Medal, Tate was awarded the Robert W. Meriwether Secondary Education Award established by the Education Department in honor of Robert Winston Meriwether, long-time faculty member and friend of the College; along with the McCuistion English Prize offered by the family of the late Dr. Fred McCuistion to the outstanding senior English major. She is also graduating with Distinction in English.

Also Thursday, Katie Allison Pratt, a senior from Shreveport, La., received the 2009 Walker-Odyssey Fellowship, a $12,500 grant that will allow her to pursue independent exploration and travel outside the United States. The Walker Fellowship Program was created by a gift from the Willard and Pat Walker Charitable Foundation. Pratt plans to use the fellowship to investigate how globalization and other socio-cultural factors have affected women's traditional food practices and their body image throughout the world.

Pratt additionally received numerous awards during Thursday's convocation, including: the Betty F. Bumpers International Leadership and Fellowship Award, given to the students who have made the most significant contributions to the development of international activities and understanding within the Hendrix College community; the Matt L. Ellis Volunteer of the Year Award, given in honor of Dr. Ellis to a student who has excelled in voluntary services to the community; and the Albert M. Raymond AED Award offered by Beta Chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta, given to a member of the fraternity entering medical, dental, veterinary, or para-medical professional school. Pratt is also graduating in May with Distinction in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology.

Other award winners from Faulkner County were:

Kelly Delaine Hill of Conway received the Alice Hines Award for Excellence in Multicultural Leadership and Service presented by the Multicultural Development Committee and the Office of Multicultural and International Students to those individuals who have gone beyond the call of duty to bolster diversity on the Hendrix College campus. The award was named after Dr. Alice Hines, Cabe Distinguished Professor of English, due to her continuous efforts to provide an environment that is culturally diverse and accepting of differences.

Alissa Camille Hellie of Conway received the Keith Sutton Award given in recognition of a graduating senior biology major who exemplifies the biological interests, the academic, intellectual, character, and leadership qualities exhibited by Dr. J. Keith Sutton. She is also graduating with Distinction in Biology.

Nicholas Reese Barnes of Conway received the Mosley Economics and Business Award offered by the late Ellis G. Mosley to a student studying Economics and Business who, during the senior year, ranked highest in departmental courses. He will also be graduating with Distinction in Economics and Business. Barnes also received the Ashley R. Coffman Wind Ensemble Award. Recipients are selected based on musicianship and commitment to the program during the current year.

Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us