Special to the Cabin
Published Sunday, May 06, 2001

75 years ago


Commencement programs for Conway High School will be started Sunday with a sermon to the graduating class by Dr. O.E. Goddard and will conclude Friday night with the awarding of diplomas. Members of the senior class are Roy Gentry, Morris Short, Mary Lee Little, Don Martin, Gladys Akin, Jesse Kenneth Boggs, Madge Brittain, Leslie Browning, Doris Elizabeth Burns, Mary Ellen Burton, James Edgar Clayton, George Quinton Coffelt, Helen Maybell Coxsey, Blanche A. Dillard, Billy Dunaway, Ruth Ann Duncan, Joseph Clarence Flowers, Harry E. Gatling, Ida Gentry, Juanita Gragson, Hope Harrin, Jewell Ophelia Harvey, William Vervian Hinkle, Billie Allene Horn, Ruth Larue Jennings, Elliot L. Johnson, Lois Beatrice Johnson, Thurman C. Johnston, James Emil Carr, Anne Rubye King, Chester O. King, Hattie Belle Lea, Robert Mark Lees, Luther J. Lieblong, Geraldine McCarty, Sarah McHenry, Sula McMahan, George Truette McPherson, Dorothy Leigh Page, Minnie Payne, Grace Ethel Phelps, Faye Sanders, Ruby Alvearn Sharp, Raleigh W. Sharrock, Hamilton Tralor, Clarence Voris, Johnnie Donaghey Wallace, Walta Mildred White, Kate Williford, and Stella Bernice Woodward.

50 years ago


The senior class of St. Joseph High School presented "Don't Take My Penny" at St. Joseph Hall. Those having roles in the play were Patricia Hambuchen, Martha Water, Dennis Lachowsky, William Halter, Florence Dussex, Thomas Nabholz, Elizabeth Partin, Joe Moll, Paul Hiegel, Barbara Ball, Anna Mae Halter, Leonard Dayer, Glen Rose, Davis Thessing, Helen Moix, Agnes Halter and Mary Louise Troillet. Richard Moix was stage manager, assisted by Joe Bruich and Ernest Lock.

Miss Marjorie Wasson, who attended Gulf Park College, Miss., was one of 96 girls entertained at Pensecola, Fla., by the officer candidates of the United States Naval School, at the Naval Air Station.

25 years ago


A Bicentennial flashback that featured the portrayal of famous American women was the program of the Pilot International Club of Conway. Participating were Mrs. Eloise McKibbean as Abigail Adams; Evelyn Johnson as Florence Nightingale; Mary Jane Moix as Helen Keller; Maggie Griffith as Kate Smith and Esther Brannan portraying Anita Bryant. Music was provided Miss Margaret Ann Ross.

Mrs. Lucibelle Markham was honored at a reception at the Arkansas Children's Colony Conway Unit. Mrs. Markham had served as Director of Social Services at the Colony since it was opened in 1959. She was presented a brass tray and a jade necklace.

10 years ago


Virco Mfg. Corp. truck drivers were taking part in a nationwide effort to find missing children. Virco joined Child Find of America Inc. and began posting decals supplied by the nonprofit organization on the backs of trailers. The decals displayed a photograph of a missing child, the child's name, date of birth, date and location of disappearance and a telephone number to call if the child has been seen. "The posters will be exposed five million times a year," said distribution manager Wayne Jeffries.

Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us