Basketball roundup: St. Joseph, MV=Enola, Greenbrier, Vilonia and Mayflower

St. Joseph boys built a 14-4 first-quarter lead, then had to work overtime to defeat Mount Vernon-Enola, 49-47, Tuesday at the St. Joseph Family Activity Center.


David Beck had 17 points and 12 rebounds to lead the Bulldogs. Triple Williams added eight points and six rebounds.

See Also

Other leaders were: Daniel Lee Kordsmeier, four points; Jack Briggler, four points, five rebounds, three assists, two steals; Jacob Welter, four points, six rebounds, three assists, four steals; Brad Vandivere, three assists.

MV-Enola won the girls game, 49-22. For St. Joseph, Joanie Elsinger, Piper Mullaney and Alexi Roach all had four points. Mullaney had six rebounds.

The Lady Warhawks held the Lady Bulldogs to 20 percent shooting.

In junior girls, MV-Enola won, 47-28.

Lilly Hill had six points and four rebounds, four assists for the Lady Bulldogs. Brookland Kordsmeier had five points.


At Greenbrier, the Panthers took a 66-57 victory over Batesville.

Carter Burcham had 20 points and Payden Webb 17 for the Greenbrier boys (8-6, 1-2).

In senior girls, Batesville won, 53-25. Breleigh Simmons led the Lady Panthers with 10 points. Sarah McGee added seven.


At Little Rock’s Philander Smith gymnasium, Mayflower jumped to a 19-4 first-quarter lead on the way to a girls 62-36 victory over eStem.

Tori Lasker scored 28 points for the Lady Eagles and Bella York added 12.


At Beebe, Grant Brown’s basket at the buzzer gave Beebe a 64-63 victory over the Eagles in boys basketball.

Malik Buron led Vilonia with 17 points.

Beebe won the girls game, 36-28.


Mon, 05/22/2017 - 15:41

McCollum’s Column: Quitman coach makes case for multiple sports in high school

Quitman has had a banner year, winning state girls 2A cross country, basketball and track titles.

Read more
Mon, 05/22/2017 - 14:46

Sideline: Honor for McGee; Hendrix’s Stanton Mn of Year

The late Joe B. McGee, longtime sports writer and managing editor of the Log Cabin Democrat, will be the 11th inductee into the Arkansas Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame.

Read more