UCA set to host commencement ceremony May 6

The University of Central Arkansas is set to hold its commencement ceremony May 6 in the Jeff Farris Health and Physical Education Center on campus.


University officials will confer 888 undergraduate degrees and 242 graduate degrees during three ceremonies.

See Also

Commencement for the College of Education, College of Liberal Arts and College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics is scheduled for 10 a.m.

Commencement for the College of Business and the College of Fine Arts and Communication will be held at 1 p.m.

Commencement for the College of Health and Behavioral Sciences will be held at 4 p.m.

UCA President Houston Davis will address the graduates and 2016-2017 Student Government Association (SGA) President Kelsey Broaddrick and newly elected 2017-2018 SGA President Hershila Lallu, will also bring greetings from the students.

Faculty Senate President Taine Duncan for 2017-2018 will address the graduates on behalf of the faculty.

UCA Alumni Association representatives Steven Shook, Aaron Knight and Rebekah Fincher will address graduates at 10 a.m., 1 p.m. and 4 p.m., respectively.

The university will award Distinguished Professor Emeriti designations to Jim Shelton from the Department of Philosophy and Religion in the College of Liberal Arts and to Roy Whitehead from the Department of Accounting in the College of Business.

Students receiving the President’s Medallion for Outstanding Student of the University 2016-2017 include: College of Education student Justin Hunsperger, College of Liberal Arts student Katelyn Trammell, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics student Kaitlynn Butler, College of Business student Roberto Rojo and College of Health and Behavioral Sciences student Abigail Strickland.

For more commencement information, visit www.uca.edu/commencement/.


Mon, 05/29/2017 - 03:51

Yesterdays: 05/29/17

May 29

Read more

A Look Back: Community Bands

On Memorial Day, we honor those who made the ultimate sacrifice to defend our country and preserve liberty and freedom. It was in 1971 when Congress passed the National Holiday Act which designated the last Monday of May as a federal holiday to honor those who died defending our country.

Read more