CFD moves on to compete in world challenge

The Conway Firefighters Combat Challenge Team qualified for the World Challenge XXVI after competing in the Scott Safety Firefighter Combat Challenge last weekend.


The team competed at the Scott Safety Firefighter Combat Challenge on June 9-10 in Branson, Missouri. The team included Cpt. John Skinner and firefighters Jay Mattox, Ty Ledbetter and Stewart Wilcox. Kenny Hartness was unable to attend the event.

Each team member finished in the Top 25 of the Open Male Individual category.

Skinner, Mattox, Ledbetter and Wilcox landed fourth place as a team and placed third in the relay.

Mattox and Ledbetter placed second in the tandem competition. Mattox also placed fifth individually.

The team qualified to compete in the World Challenge XXVI in the team, relay, tandem and individual categories for its performance at the Scott Safety Firefighter Combat Challenge. The challenge will be held in Louisville, Kentucky, in October.

Firefighters Tyler Berry of the Conway Fire Department and Doug Welter of the North Little Rock Fire Department also traveled with the Conway Firefighters Combat Challenge Team to compete in the tandem category. The two finished third.

Berry said he enjoyed his experience competing in Branson, noting the challenge is also beneficial to firefighters.

“It was a great experience to be a part of,” he said. “It helps promote health and wellness in our career.”



Tue, 12/12/2017 - 18:07

No injuries in afternoon housefire

Tue, 12/12/2017 - 17:10

Sideline: Farm Bureau Awards, CBC basketball

LITTLE ROCK — High school football players throughout the state received Farm Bureau Awards in their classifications as selected by the staff of Hooten’s Arkansas Football.

Read more
Tue, 12/12/2017 - 16:46

UCA’s Anderson SLC’s Student-Athlete of the Year

University of Central Arkansas junior volleyball player Samantha Anderson has been named the Southern Conference’s Student-Athlete of the Year, while senior Megan Nash earned First Team all-conference honors and sophomore Elizabeth Armstrong was named to the Second Team.

Read more