McCollum honored by the AAA

David McCollum

David McCollum, who has served as sports editor/editor of the Conway Log Cabin Democrat for 32 years, has been selected to receive the Arkansas Activities Association’s 2014 Distinguished Media Service Award.

This is the 18th year for the AAA’s Media award and McCollum is the 20th recipient of the award.

McCollum will receive the award at the 2014 AHSCA-AOA-AHSAAA Hall of Fame banquet in Hot Springs on Friday, July 11, 2014 at the Hot Springs Convention Center.

McCollum is a 1972 Journalism graduate of Baylor. He interned at the Memphis Press-Scimitar for three summers while enrolled at Baylor. He began his sports writing career at Orange, Texas, covering high school, college and professional sports. McCollum became the sports editor of the Arkansas Democrat in 1977 and became the sports editor of the Log Cabin Democrat in 1982.

Since then, McCollum has written five columns a week in addition to regular sports coverage on a variety of high school, college and pro sports. During is career in Texas and Arkansas, he has written more than 8,700 columns.

McCollum is one of the most decorated sports writers in Arkansas history, having won more than 200 awards for columns, sports news stories, features and regular news stories from organizations that have included the Texas Sports Writers Association, the United State Basketball Writers Association of America, the Football Writers Association of America, the Arkansas Press Association, the Associated Press Managing Editors Association of Arkansas and Associated Press Sports Editors.

While with the Democrat and Log Cabin Democrat, McCollum has covered NCAA championship and playoff events at every level and a wide variety of sports and championship events on every classification in Arkansas. He has analyzed and covered extensively issues involving high school sports in Arkansas and championship teams in a number of sports involving Conway, Greenbrier, Vilonia, Mayflower, St. Joseph, Conway Christian, Guy-Perkins and Mount Vernon-Enola.

McCollum was named the Arkansas Sportswriters of the Year for 2008 by the National Association of Sportscasters and Sports Writers. In 2010, he received the Meritorious Service Award from the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, an organization on which he has served on the Board of Directors for 33 years.

He is the fourth media represented who has worked in Conway to be so honored. The others are sports writers Joe Mosby, Donna Stephens and broadcaster Mike Harrison.

McCollum and his wife Beverly, a human resources manager, live in North Little Rock. Their son, Gavin, a 2010 graduate of the University of Arkansas, is attending Duke Divinity School.

To be eligible for this award, the recipient must have contributed in an official capacity or have made a special contribution in the area of news media service to the Arkansas Activities Association, its member schools and the students attending them, for a period of a minimum of three consecutive years.



Wed, 02/22/2017 - 20:28

Guy-Perkins in regional advances after rout

MOUNT VERNON – With a 70-49 win Wednesday over West Side of Greers Ferry, the Guy-Perkins boys (31-4) advanced to the semifinals of the Region 1A-3 Tournament at Mount Vernon-Enola High School.

Read more
Wed, 02/22/2017 - 20:14

Sports roundup: St. Joseph basketball, Conway basketball, 5A-West, CBC basketball and Hendrix basketball

Lavaca pulled away in the second half Wednesday on the way to a 58-28 victory over St. Joseph in the 2A West boys regional at Pangburn.

Read more
Wed, 02/22/2017 - 19:59

Sugar Bears win 13th in a row

The University of Central Arkansas Sugar Bears got outscored, 27-12 in the fourth quarter Wednesday night but had already built a cushioon for a 78-64 victory over Southeastern Louisiana at Hammond.

Read more