• Comment

Meadors, Gillean enter pleas of innocent

Posted: November 19, 2012 - 2:25pm

Two former University of Central Arkansas officials entered innocent pleas Monday morning in separate criminal cases at Faulkner County Circuit Court with Judge Charles Clawson presiding.

Pleas for both former chief of staff Jack Gillean and former president Allen Meadors were entered in the same hearing by defense attorney Tim Dudley. Only Gillean appeared in court.

Gillean, 55, was charged with three felony counts of commercial burglary, one felony count of fraudulent insurance acts and one misdemeanor count of issuing a false statement following an investigation into allegations that he provided a master key to a student to use for stealing tests from professor’s offices. Gillean reported his key “lost” around November of last year.

If found guilty, he could face 36 years maximum for all felony counts.

Meadors, 65, is facing a charge of solicitation of tampering with a public document following allegations that he asked the university's vice president of finance and administration to destroy an FOI request related to the investigation of the possible mishandling of a “grant” proposed by Aramark food vendor that was placed before trustees last year.

If convicted of the class A misdemeanor, he could face up to a year in jail or a $1,000 fine.

Pretrial hearings for both men were scheduled for Jan. 14, when trial dates will likely be set.

(Megan Reynolds is a staff writer and can be reached by e-mail at megan.reynolds@thecabin.net or by phone at 505-1277. Follow us on Twitter @lcdonline.)

  • Comment
Comments (2) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
188fw_flyngRzrbk 11/19/12 - 05:51 pm
Isn't it just wonderful that

Isn't it just wonderful that we now have a UCA day at the Faulkner County Courthouse?!? /sarc

BigDaddyD 11/19/12 - 08:03 pm
New marketing strategy or field trip?

Is this part of the new marketing strategy?

Were pre-Law students allowed to make this a field trip for extra credit?

Gillean deserves jail time, and so did Lu.

Back to Top