Our Clubs May 12

Faulkner County Retired Teachers Association


President Hervey Galloway called the April meeting to order. Peggy Sturgis introduced the Jim Brunson Family who provided selections of “Old Timey Music.”

Jay Fortner read the minutes of the March meeting. Hervey Galloway presented the treasurer’s report in the absence of Betty Stevens.

Polly Bakker introduced Carolyn Lewis, chair, who thanked and introduced the host/hostess committee: Judy Corcoran, Jo Nell Lowry, Sue Nunnally, Don Robbins, Sara Shinn, Betty Stevens and Jennie Webb.

Elizabeth Rose Black reported 36 members present. Julia Fraser announced 672 volunteer hours were recorded.

Julia Fraser and Sandra Bradberry served as the nominating committee and Julia presented the slate of officers: Bill Stevens, President; Mary Jane Bloxom, President-Elect; Kathryn Starr, First Vice President; Judy McKnight, Second Vice President; Jay Fortner, Secretary; Betty Stevens, Treasurer; Hervey Galloway, Parliamentarian; Julia Fraser, Reporter; and Charlotte Bell, Historian. The nominees were elected.

Members were again reminded of the ARTA dues increase which will take effect this summer. Toad Suck scholarship committee members were mentioned and thanked for their work. Peggy Sturgis invited members to attend the Toad Suck Dinner at the Senior Citizens Center. Sharon Rapp explained the CPSF brick program which benefits Conway Public School Foundation projects. Katherine Starr asked the membership for program suggestions for next year.

The May 21 meeting will begin at 1:30 p.m. and will include a traditional pot luck meal.


Conway Shakespeare Club

The Conway Shakespeare Club will meet at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 16, at the home of Carol Schedler. Co-hostesses will be Gay Moore and Ellen Johnson. Linda Arnold will present a program on Ellen Gilchrist.



The Alpha Iota Chapter of Kappa Kappa Iota met Monday evening, May 6, for a dinner meeting at Ruby Tuesday’s.

President Amber Horn represented the Alpha Iota chapter at the Arkansas Epsilon State Convention held April 20 in Fort Smith, Ark. It was reported that the Dardanelle Chapter added 11 new members. Alpha Iota Chapter received a certificate for adding one new member. The National KKI Convention will be in June at Omaha, Neb. The Alpha Iota Chapter was asked to host the Arkansas Epsilon State Board Meeting in August.

The Kappas are making plans to do so. The meeting will be Saturday, Aug. 10.

Officers for 2013-14 were installed as follows: Amber Horn, president; Tricia Moix, vice president; Brittany Russell, secretary; Clara Rose Simon, treasurer; Doretta Bright, empathy; and Danette Fiddler, song leader.

It was announced that Alpha Iota member, Linda Wall, was named “Teacher of the Year” recently at Carolyn Lewis Elementary.

Bronnie Rose won the raffle item, a sunshine welcome sign, which was brought by Ms. Simon. Elizabeth Humphrey received the door prize from the hostesses, a garden flag with a holder. The hostesses were Sue Gates and Judy Reno.

The next meeting of the Chapter will be held Aug. 5 at the home of Ms. Horn, president. The brunch meeting will begin at 10:30 a.m.



To Beta Sigma Phi City Council, and to all five Conway Chapters, I, Sarah Rivers, wish to retract my last article about Founder’s Day. First let me apologize to my own chapter, Beta Upsilon, then to City Council and the other chapters. It in no way was meant to be hurtful, demeaning, ungrateful, or disrespectful to any of the members of BSP. With heartfelt emotions, please accept my most sincere apology.



Tue, 06/27/2017 - 19:38

FDA takes steps to boost generic competition, limit prices

The Food and Drug Administration said it’s taking steps to boost the number of generic prescription drugs on the market in an effort to make medicines more affordable and to prevent price gouging.

Read more

Area senior centers offer community opportunity

The Faulkner County Senior Wellness and Activity Center is a source of much joy for many senior citizens of the Conway community. The senior center serves all of Faulkner County in a network of centers in various towns around the county including; Mayflower, Vilonia, Greenbrier, Twin Groves and Conway.

Read more