Dizzy Dean, Clay Henry to be honored in Conway

The Arkansas Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame will welcome its eighth set of inductees Saturday during a banquet at the Centennial Special Events Center.

The late Dizzy Dean, a Hall of Fame pitcher for the St. Louis Cardinals but also a popular broadcaster for Major League Baseball after he retired, will be the sportscaster inducted.

Clay Henry, the publisher of Hawgs Illustrated Magazine and a former sports editor of the Log Cabin Democrat and golf reporter for the Tulsa World, will honored with the sportswriter award. The induction of Henry will mark the first father-son duo to enter the Hall of Fame. He is a son of the late Orville Henry, who was in the inaugural class.

Past inductees have included David McCollum and Joe Mosby of the Log Cabin Democrat and Conway radio broadcaster Mike Harrison.

Other awards will also be given in the event, coordinated by the Arkansas Sports Club.

Razorback legend Clyde Scott will be presented a lifetime achievement award.

Stanley Russ will be honored by the ASC as member of the year.

There will be special recognition for families of deceased members.

A meet and greet will begin at 5:45 p.m. Dinner begins at 6 p.m. The program begins at 7 p.m.


Mon, 03/27/2017 - 12:20

Sports roundup: UCA baseball, tennis, Hendrix baseball

Mark Moyer, a redshirt freshman from Russellville who missed the 2016 season with an arm injury, went the distance, allowing just five hits and striking out four to record UCA’s first complete game of the season to lead the University of Central Arkansas to a run-rule, 10-0 victory New Orleans University in the runner game of the three-game series Sunday at Bear Stadium.

Read more