The Sideline: High school basketball honors and Firecracker Fast 5K

High school hoops coaches hand out awards

Conway’s Ashley Nance and Jordan Danberry were recipients of two awards during the Arkansas High School Basketball Coaches Association annual board meeting during All-Star Week.


Nance was Coach of the Year in 7A and Danberry was Player of the Year.

The awards:

Arkansas Basketball Coaches Association

2013-14 Awards

Players of the Year:


1A: Jason Roark, Concord

2A: Spencer Reeves, Cedar Ridge

3A: Mahlon Martin, Episcopal

4A: Chandler Thompson, Brookland

5A: Trey Thompson, Forrest City

6A: Kahron Ross, Jonesboro

7A: Anton Beard- North Little Rock


1A: Bailey Zimmerman, Wonderview

2A: Rachel Medina, Spring Hill

3A: Olivia McWilliams, eStem

4A: Alivia Huell, Malvern

5A: Sydney Layrock, Paragould

6A: Megan Hartness, Greenwood

7A: Jordan Danberry, Conway

Coaches of the Year


1A: Keith Cornett, Concord

2A: Isaac Middlebrooks, Cedar Ridge

3A: Micah Marsh, Episcopal

4A: Bobby Gross, Brookland

5A: Dwight Lofton, Forrest City

6A: Wes Swift, Jonesboro

7A: Johnny Rice, North Little Rock


1A: Kyle Payne, Nemo Vista

2A: Laura Kidd, Spring Hill

3A: Rusty Garner, Harding Academy

4A: Jess Martin, Malvern

5A: Jay Cook, Paragould

6A: Clay Reeves, Greenwood

7A: Ashley Nance, Conway

Setzler 2nd in Firecracker 5K

Erika Setzler of Conway, a former track and cross country star at the University of Central Arkansas, finished second in the women’s division in the Firecracker Fast 5K at Little Rock.

Leah Thorvilson of Little Rock won in 17:16.37. Setzler finished in 17:48.33.

Will Norris won the women’s division in 14:56.72



Sat, 11/18/2017 - 20:34

Bears grab the trophy in style

Sat, 11/18/2017 - 19:19

McCollum’s Column: Happiness on a bad hair day

Other than the University of Central Arkansas defense holding Abilene Christian to 25 net rushing yards Saturday, the toughest, stoutest job at Estes Stadium on Saturday was done by a hardy group of band members trying to hold together the large American flag during the national anthem in a swirling, 21 mph win, with gusts nearby about 50.

Read more
Sat, 11/18/2017 - 17:30

Sports roundup: UCA volleyball and Hendrix basketball

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas — The University of Central Arkansas volleyball team reached Sunday’s Southland Conference Volleyball Tournament championship with a 3-2 (25-19, 25-20, 24-26, 20-25, 15-9) win Saturday over No. 3 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi.

Read more