See which students will be honored with Marvin Delph Awards

Several male and female eight-graders from Conway’s public and private schools have earned Marvin Delph Student-Athlete Awards to be presented by the Conway Athletic Awards Commission at its annual luncheon on Sunday, Jan. 19.

The students are: Maridia Harper, Megan Solberg, Zach Freedle and Michael George from Conway Junior High School Blue team; Casey Ott, Mae Roach, Joe Thomas and Logan White from Conway Junior High School White team; Lindsey Witting and Spencer Pope from St. Joseph Catholic School; and Kendra Lea and Aaron Martin from Conway Christian School.

At the honors luncheon, former Conway High and UCA multisport standout Henry Hawk will be presented the 2013 Elijah Pitts Award for career achievement. UCA baseball coach Allen Gum will be honored with the Marvin Delph Award for sportsman of the year while Hendrix track and field All-American and national champion Elizabeth Krug will be presented the Marvin Delph Award for sportswoman of the year.

The luncheon will be at Central Baptist College’s Student Center beginning at noon. Tickets are available by calling 501-932-5813. Proceeds from this year’s banquet will go toward the Braves Field special needs baseball facility project.





Mon, 03/27/2017 - 12:20

Sports roundup: UCA baseball, tennis, Hendrix baseball

Mark Moyer, a redshirt freshman from Russellville who missed the 2016 season with an arm injury, went the distance, allowing just five hits and striking out four to record UCA’s first complete game of the season to lead the University of Central Arkansas to a run-rule, 10-0 victory New Orleans University in the runner game of the three-game series Sunday at Bear Stadium.

Read more